Cook Kindly

Adventures in cooking and navigating a gluten-free life.

Pumpkin Muffins

Leave a comment

Thanks to ElevateWellnes.blogspot.com for the excellent resource of allergy free (including gluten free) recipes and meal ideas! I adapted Christina’s Pumpkin Muffin recipe and whipped up a batch of these scrumptious breakfast bites. Christina listed a few of her own notes next to the ingredients, my notes or changes are in italics.

Pumpkin Muffins

Ingredients

3/4 cup sugar (I like rapadura aka whole cane sugar) I used plain old cane sugar
2 eggs OR Ener-G Egg Replacer
1/4 tsp. aluminum-free baking powder I used regular baking powder, probably includes aluminum
1 tsp. baking soda
3/4 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. cloves
3/4 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1 2/3 cup Bob’s Red Mill GF All-Purpose Flour I used Better Batter’s All Purpose Flour
1/2 cup melted coconut oil (highly recommend, but you can use butter) Being nearly out of regular butter, I used a combination of butter and margarine.
1/4 cup cold water
1 c pumpkin
1 medium ripe banana, mashed

1 c of mini chocolate chips (these would be great without the chocolate, too!)

Mix all ingredients together in one bowl. Put in greased muffin tin. Bake at 325 degrees for approx. 45 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

Image

Add flax seed meal, raisins, chocolate chips, nuts as desired.

Making muffins from scratch in one bowl is my kind of baking! I first put the banana in my stand mixer’s bowl and whipped it, rather than mashing it with a fork. All the other ingredients were added to that same bowl and mixed together. Viola, pour the mix into a prepped cupcake tin and bake. This made 12 regular sized muffins and 9 mini muffins, and they were super moist, flavorful, and all-out spectacular. Ryan (the hubs) is NOT a fan of banana’s, and he said he could easily taste the banana flavor over the pumpkin. I semi-agree, but thought the muffins were delicious, then again, I love bananas. I’d like to try the recipe again without the banana, maybe using some apple sauce or more pumpkin. We’ll see.

ImageI baked the mini muffins at the same time as the regular sized muffins, for about 20 minutes. They came out light golden brown, perfect. The regular sized muffins I was not very attentive to, and found that 45 minutes was just a tad too long in my oven. I think about 40 minutes would have been perfect, the fairly-dark-but-not-yet-burnt muffins still taste delicious!

This was my first venture with any gluten free baking and I’m glad I picked a tried-and-true gluten free recipe. I have read so many stories of people struggling to get good results when trying to bake gluten free. I really liked the Better Batter GF Flour mixture, I’m curious to see how it works in a regular (non-GF) recipe.

Author: Angie

I'm just a girl who likes to cook and try new things. I was diagnosed with Gluten Intolerance in June 2012, and am discovering new ways to make old favorites as well as new dishes to suite my adjusted eating habits. It's a journey, and I wanted to share my success (and I'm sure, some defeats).

Leave a Reply

