Cook Kindly

Adventures in cooking and navigating a gluten-free life.

Product Review: Chebe Focaccia Bread

Leave a comment

Following the instructions on the box, mix together the Chebe focaccia mix with the oil, cheese, etc in a large bowl. When adding in the water or milk, I recommend smushing the dough with your hands to really mix everything together good.

Once the dough comes together, flatten the dough out into a 9 inch pie pan, pressing your fingertips into the dough, to create indentations. Brush the top of the dough with olive oil, then top with any desired herbs. I sprinkled the dough with sea salt and oregano. Bake according to package directions, until beginning to brown.

I was pleasantly surprised by the light and airy texture of the focaccia bread. It was rather delicious tasting as well. Ryan even agreed. Overall, I would recommend this gluten free mix to anyone. I also like that you can customize however you wish – different cheeses, different herbs, even topping the bread with sliced tomatoes or onion. All-in-all a good bread option.

Now, I have to admit, before going gluten free I was a bread lover. I have been known to eat 4, 5, 6+ dinner rolls at one sitting. I was a sucker for fresh baked bread, especially. Couldn’t get enough. Now, since realizing that gluten is the cause of my feeling ill, I am not much interested in bread. Perhaps it’s psychological, I don’t know. I enjoyed a piece of the focaccia bread with my pasta dinner, but really wasn’t interested in any after that. A complete 180-turn from my previous self, trust me.

Have you tried any bread mixes, or made bread on your own? What has (or hasn’t) worked for you?

Author: Angie

I'm just a girl who likes to cook and try new things. I was diagnosed with Gluten Intolerance in June 2012, and am discovering new ways to make old favorites as well as new dishes to suite my adjusted eating habits. It's a journey, and I wanted to share my success (and I'm sure, some defeats).

Leave a Reply

