Cook Kindly

Adventures in cooking and navigating a gluten-free life.

Five Guys Burgers & Fries

Leave a comment

As any gluten free eater knows, eating out can be a challenge, especially when you’re not in a familiar place. Friday afternoon Ryan and I were running around the state working on things for the house. Around lunch time I pulled out my phone to find a gluten free option. I googled “gluten free” + the city we wanted to eat in. Lucky for me, google came through, linking me to the Urban Spoon page for that city’s gluten free dining options. I read off a few choices, and ultimately we decided to try Five Guys Burgers & Fries.

If you had known me in college, you would be surprised that I would pick a burger place for lunch. Oh how times change. Back then, I was a pseudo-vegetarian. I ate mostly vegetarian (especially when I was cooking), but would eat meat on occasion (especially if someone else was cooking… I didn’t like to be a burden). Ha, how times have changed. Now, I often find myself ordering a burger without the bun, well, because sometimes that’s the best option when dining out gluten free.

At any rate, we walked into Five Guys to see the place pretty packed, bags of potatoes running down the center of the restaurant. It looked 50’s-esqu with checked tile on the walls. I quickly read through the menu, they only offer a few burger options (with & without cheese, bacon) or hot dogs, and you add your toppings. They also make pretty good hand-cut fries. I ordered a gluten free cheese burger with grilled onions, pickles, ketchup, and mustard. Ryan got a double with the same toppings + jalapenos. We ordered a medium fry to share.

Image

I was busy reading all the signs on the walls, touting how great Five Guys is to notice, but Ryan informed me that the entire food crew changed gloves and cleaned off the food prep surfaces to make my burger. How awesome is that?!?! Not only did we find a place that I can eat the french fries, but they also take that extra step to ensure a safe meal for me. Thank you so much Five Guys!

Image

Once we got our food, I was so ready to dig in, and wasn’t disappointed. The burger was juicy and fully loaded with my chosen toppings. The fries we hot, salty, and well, there was a lot of them. We devoured our lunches with smiles on our faces. I have to admit that I am partial to crispy french fries, which generally you don’t get with hand-cut fries. Although the Five Guys fries were not crispy, they were very tasty and satisfying. All-in-all, I give Five Guys 5-stars for their tasty burgers and fries and quick custom-made fare.

Author: Angie

I'm just a girl who likes to cook and try new things. I was diagnosed with Gluten Intolerance in June 2012, and am discovering new ways to make old favorites as well as new dishes to suite my adjusted eating habits. It's a journey, and I wanted to share my success (and I'm sure, some defeats).

Leave a Reply

