Cook Kindly

Adventures in cooking and navigating a gluten-free life.

Top it Off

Leave a comment

When I was pregnant with Max (my oldest), I developed an aversion to yogurt. Didn’t matter what flavor, yogurt was disgusting, but peach was the worst. My like of yogurt improved after having him, but again dissipated while I was pregnant with Harry. I definitely prefer the thick creamy texture of Greek yogurt, but at nearly double the price of regular yogurt, I consider Greek to be a treat. That’s where the toppings come in. While pregnant with Harry, I began a love affair…with toasted coconut. The sweet crunch mended my relationship with yogurt. 

  
One of my new favorite snacks is vanilla yogurt parfaits. Top with fruit, mini chocolate chips, gluten free granola, and toasted coconut. So delicious, the combinations are endless. 

   
 
This versatile sweet-treat snack is pretty easy to pack and take with you, too. Just one word to the wise: put down a layer of fruit and top with granola or toasted coconut, the fruit will act as a barrier to keep the crunchy toppings from getting soggy. 

Could you hand me a spoon? Holy yum!

Author: Angie

I'm just a girl who likes to cook and try new things. I was diagnosed with Gluten Intolerance in June 2012, and am discovering new ways to make old favorites as well as new dishes to suite my adjusted eating habits. It's a journey, and I wanted to share my success (and I'm sure, some defeats).

Leave a Reply

