Cook Kindly

Adventures in cooking and navigating a gluten-free life.

Flap Jacks, Hot Cakes, Pancakes

Leave a comment

Get ’em while they’re hot! 

We have pancakes nearly every weekend at our house, and sometimes for dinner. Depending on where you shop, there isn’t always a large selection of gluten free pancake mixes to choose from, not to mention how pricey they can be. A few months ago, I thought I had hit the pancake jackpot when Costco was selling a mammoth club-sized bag of Krusteaz gluten free pancake mix. The pancakes were exactly what you’d expect from the Krusteaz brand: moist, fluffy, and delicious. Plus, the price was very reasonable. Sadness set in when I haven’t been able to find the mix in store since (insert sad music here).  

Weekend pancake breakfasts shall live on! I have found that Target carries a good selection of gf pancake mixes at reasonable (gf reasonable, that is) prices. I was pretty excited when I came across gluten free mix from another well-known brand in the pancake world. Hungry Jack gluten free pancake mix…wait for it… Funfetti! Being a mama to a toddler, I felt like this was a whole family WIN! Ryan gets pancakes (win), Max gets colorful sprinkles in pancakes (win), and for me, they are gluten free (triple double word score win)! I literally buy several boxes at a time. 

  
I prefer my pancakes with butter and sugar sprinkled on top, rather than syrup. (Don’t judge, syrup is pretty darn sugary, so I figure it’s a wash.)

  
Ryan, on the other hand, tops his pancakes with crunchy peanut butter and syrup. Totally not healthy, but sometimes you just can’t teach an old dog new tricks. At least it’s got protein, right?!?! 

  
No matter how you top ’em, Hungry Jack pancakes are an excellent gluten free option, for breakfast or anytime. 

Author: Angie

I'm just a girl who likes to cook and try new things. I was diagnosed with Gluten Intolerance in June 2012, and am discovering new ways to make old favorites as well as new dishes to suite my adjusted eating habits. It's a journey, and I wanted to share my success (and I'm sure, some defeats).

Leave a Reply

