Cook Kindly

Adventures in cooking and navigating a gluten-free life.

Convenience

Leave a comment

One of the hardest adjustments when going gluten free is the lack of convenience foods. There are some options, but by-and-large they either are not that great or they cost a small fortune. There are nights when you just don’t feel like cooking and want to throw a frozen pizza in the oven. Or nights where you need a quick meal on the table before heading out the door again. Those nights can be tough for a gf-er. On those nights, we do a lot of eggs in my house. My almost 3-year old prefers them scrambled with cheese, please.

Even canned soups often contain gluten, but stay tuned for my secret weapon in my Chicken Wild Rice hot dish, coming soon.

We do have a go-to meal that never fails to please. A meal that comes together quickly, without planning ahead. Drum roll, please… Spaghetti & meatballs. Yep, frozen, pre-made meatballs – gluten free. Taa daa!  Sam’s Club sells a 6 pound bag of Daily Chef meatballs (double check that they are gf, because they carry more than one kind), and I guarantee you there is always, always a bag in my freezer.

image

 

Simmer a few (or a dozen) meatballs in spaghetti sauce, while boiling up your noodles. I love Trader Joe’s brown rice pasta noodles. They taste great and are reasonably priced, plus they come in a 16 oz bag (most gf noodles come in 12 oz packages). Once  the noodles are cooked al dente (literally meaning “with tooth” or having a bite still), drain the noodles and mix with the sauce. The starch in brown rice noodles is different than traditional wheat flour noodles, they tend to clump together & get hard. My secret, always toss your pasta with the sauce, the noodles maintain their texture better.

image

Spaghetti & meatballs is a fast and convenient meal that’ll please the whole family.

Author: Angie

I'm just a girl who likes to cook and try new things. I was diagnosed with Gluten Intolerance in June 2012, and am discovering new ways to make old favorites as well as new dishes to suite my adjusted eating habits. It's a journey, and I wanted to share my success (and I'm sure, some defeats).

Leave a comment